Filterless 55 gallon tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ches

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, I'm new to this site but I've been keeping fish for 8 months now. I set up a new 55 gallon tank last week and decided to attempt to go filterless. 92 watts of light at 15,100 K. (what does the "K" stand for?) 10 hours a day. Heater. No filter, powerhead, co2 or anything else. Florabase substrate mixed with gravel. I keep the lid at all times so CO2 doesn't escape at night.

Obviously it's fully planted with tons of plants. I read that if I keep a low # of fish, plants will take care of everything else? So far, the water parameters are fine no ammonia, nitrites, nitrates. pH is 6.2. I have 5 kuhli loaches and 5 neon tetras in the tank and they are happy. How many more fish could I add in this setup?

Is there anything I should be worried about? Thanks for your help!:lol:

IMO just keeping the plants healthy so they can take care of the ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate

K stand for Kelvin. The lighting is a little low, what kind of plants do you have? Also, i'm not positive that 15,100K lighting is a good light wavelength for plants, but i could be wrong, never heard of someone using it in a planted tank. Also, keeping a lid on the tank won't stop co2 from escaping, because if that were true, your fish would've died from lack of oxygen. What type of lighting fixture are you using? I would continue to test your water every day, and if you see no rise in any of the parameters in a week, i'd say you're good to go. Be sure to feed sparingly, and to tend to your plants leaving no rotting leaves as that will add ammonia.