Filters and lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

timeaway

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello!

I've been a hobbyist for years but out of the loop for a while. I am setting up my 55g freshwater once again. Never liked the undergravel filters however I'm concerned about the biological cycle being maintined through HOB and canister filters when you change the filter media.

Any thoughts on this?

Also, does anyone carry any hoods other than the standard plastic perfecto type? Are open top tanks the popular thing now with lights just suspended above?

LED or flourescent??

Looking forward to some opinions out there!

Thanks for your time!:)

Hi Time,
Like you, I was out of the hobby for about 8 years from 1995 to 2004. When I got back in I was amazed at how much technology had improved. Also SO lucky to find this forum to help me catch up. Welcome to one of the best sites with the best people.
U gravel filters are about extinct. The HOB's and cannisters are so much easier to maintain and are more efficient. They allow a myriad of options on filter medias also. The BB nitrogen oxidation is more effiecient due to better water flow and media surface area.
As far as tops go, many people have gone topless but if you have jumpers or just like a top for the various reasons, the hinged glass tops are great and fairly cheap. Look at versa-tops. For lights there are many choices in flourescents and LED's that go from reasonally priced to high dollar "gee-whiz" models. A BIG factor on lights is whether you want to grow plants also or not.
If you find something that interests you, just post an inquiry in here. Someone will definitely chime in. Good luck & welcome to AA. OS.