First Saltwater Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Space

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I am a freshwater person. There aren't a ton of saltwater fish that really interest me. The exception however is that I think morays are the coolest thing to grace this Earth.

The problem is, Morays are salt water and I have zero experience with saltwater fish. Needles to say im not about to drop 80$ on a fimbrated moray with zero experience.

I have an extra 10 gallon laying around that I want to try learning the ropes with before I dive into something I can't handle. So does anyone had advice for good starter saltwater fish for a tank that small. And if it is anything that has similar water requirements to a moray that would be a plus.

Most all saltwater fish have similar water requirements, especially reef. Believe it or not the larger the tank, the easier it is to maintain. I've kept a 10g nano for 2 years before upgrading to a 75g. I ran aqua clear 30g hob and the small power head. I did water changes weekly with ro/di water which is a must imho for any reef. A good salt mix is needed, I use instant ocean reef crystals for my aquarium. A decent heater, lighting is iffy depending if you want corals or not.

Anytype of goby such as the neon or clown would be a good fit. Good do a goby shrimp pair. Clowns get to big for a 10g but a fire fish would also work

Most all saltwater fish have similar water requirements, especially reef. Believe it or not the larger the tank, the easier it is to maintain. I've kept a 10g nano for 2 years before upgrading to a 75g. I ran aqua clear 30g hob and the small power head. I did water changes weekly with ro/di water which is a must imho for any reef. A good salt mix is needed, I use instant ocean reef crystals for my aquarium. A decent heater, lighting is iffy depending if you want corals or not.