First tank startup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

treym563

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys just started my first tank and figured I'd make a thread (with pics!) to discuss it since I'm sure I will run into issues. I'd like to preface this with I recently started reading about aquariums and I am by no means an expert so if anyone has any opinions/advice about what I plan on doing don't hesitate to chime in.

Here's what I'm using:
20 Gallon tank
Penguin Biowheel 150
Aqueon 100W heater
API Stress Coat water conditioner
ACE Hardware brand ammonia- says it contains 10% ammonium hydroxide, it doesn't have an ingredient list but it doesn't bubble when I shake it so I'm hoping it's the right stuff
Standard aquarium rock

So far my plans for the tank are:
Fish:
4-5 Cardinal or Neon Tetra's- I'd prefer Cardinal because of their brighter color
1 Dwarf Gourami
3 Otto's (I hear they like to be in groups of at least 3?)
5-10 Cherry Shrimp (A lady nearby supplies some local fish stores with them and promises they are healthy)

Plants:
I want to have live plants but haven't decided which ones specifically. For sure java moss or java fern since I've read that's what the Cherry Shrimp love. Other than that, I'm still not sure. Any advice on this would be appreciated.

Here's a picture of my tank, ornaments/fake plants haven't shipped yet and waiting till after my cycle to add live plants.

Attachments

• 069.jpg
    069.jpg
    202.2 KB · Views: 121
Last night I started my fishless cycle. Cleaned the rock, added heater and filter and filled it up with treated water. I let the filter run for an hour or so then did a water test just to see what my treated water would show. I got:
PH:7.6
Ammonia: around .25ppm (before I added any ammonia)
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0