Fish are dieing! Please help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sharkie2576

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to this but certain fish keep dieing. I have a 100 gallon tank with 2 emperor 400 filters. I have a 300 watt heater. I have 100 lbs live sand and about 50 lbs of rock.I have a black and white damsel, clown fish(nemo), pajama cardinal, and valentini puffed that are all doing well. I have a foxface with cloudy eyes that is hanging out at the top of the tank. He looks like he is dieing. I have lost a flame angel, Koran angel,bi color angel and a royal gram in the last 2 weeks. I have an api test kit that I use. My salt is at 1.024, ph 8.2, ammonia 0, nitrites 0, and nitrates 20 ppm. My water temp is at 80. The tank is about 8 weeks old. Can someone please help me? This is really frustrating! Thanks in advance.

Just a guess, but I'd say it's a result of the "too much, too fast" syndrome. If I counted right, looks like you've had 9 fish in an 8-week old tank. Even if that 8-weeks does NOT include the time it took to cycle, that's still too many fish too quick. (The tank was cycled... right?)

Even though your ammonia readings are zero now, the deaths could be as a result of ammonia poisoning that happened earlier. Were you taking readings for ammonia all during the last 8 weeks?

I have followed the instructions from the guy at my lfs. As I said before, I am new at this but I added some damsels a week after the tank was up and running so I am not sure. Since my post earlier, I noticed my damsel swimming slowly on the bottom and my calico crab grabbed him and ate him. Now my other fish all look like they aren't doing so well. Yes, i was checking the ammonia all along. What can i do to ostop all the fish from dieing? My lfs seem to be giving me the wrong info.