Fish dying 1 after another

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mmcintosh_xo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to the fish world and having quite a rocky start.
My mom had the tank and decided after having it for years she was ready to give up the hobby so I quickly jumped on taking and setting it up for my baby to enjoy.
It's a 50G tank, started by cleaning everything, setting it up, adding water conditioner and letting it run for over a week before adding anything.
Picked out about 15 fish (some small fish so sales guy said I had a good number to start and get the tank running smoothly)
Things were fine for about 2 weeks and then one evening I noticed a dead fish. After further inspection I noticed a couple others had what appeared to be ich.
It was strange it came so quick becusse my son and I watch them daily and I hadn't noticed anything before this.
I removed the dead fish and treated for ich, the next morning I did a 30%-40% water change
We did this a total of 3 times when we were certain everything was cleared up.
But water had gotten cloudy and being new I never thought Of the fact the treatements would set the aquarium off balance.
So we had lost about 8 fish before finally treating ich and getting the tank back to a 0ppm amonia nh3 and nh4
Thought all was well... until yesterday one of my white fish (a type of molly I think) started swimming like CRAZY. I'm talking very quick spuratic, spins, loops, upside down, etc before resting in the bottom with laboured breathing. She died before I could try peas thinking a possible case of swimmers bladder.
The only thing I noticed off with her was her fins were all tight to her body prior to dying.