Fish R Fascinating

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

annabel1066

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello! I'm new to fish-keeping, and I just love fish. I find them beautiful and fascinating, and I want to learn about the behavior and personalities of these little creatures who live in an environment so very different from ours. To what level can you communicate with them? How much can you teach them? What can they teach me?

Like many who come to this site, I've had to learn some things the hard way, and I'm looking for some help in learning the right and most humane way to do this. I started out with a 5g tank and after constantly trying to regulate the tank for about 6 months, I lost the battle and was unable to save my two poor goldfish :(

So, having learned two painful lessons (One, 5g is too small for almost anything and a real hassle to maintain, and two, goldfish need a MUCH bigger tank), I've started over with hours of reading and research and a 15g high tank (which I purchased early in the reading or would have gone bigger). This tank will be a bit of work to maintain as well, but I've managed to successfully cycle it.

My set up is as follows:
15g high with hood/light
penguin 150 w/bio wheel
top fin ar-1000 air pump with air stone, an adjustment valve and a check valve
power strip with timer
fluval heater set to 80 degrees
strip thermometer
gravel and rock substrate
3 marimo moss balls
5 harlequin rasboras

I've had the tank going for about two weeks now. I started out by running the aquarium and adding Stability every day for a week. I then added a large bottle of tetra SafeStart and 3 of the 5 rasboras. Three days later I added the other 2 rasboras (thinking they would be less stressed in a bit larger school) and the 3 marimo moss balls for some coolness :cool: and oxygen.