Fishless cycle: ammonia 4 ppm, nitrite finally 0?!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Captain Stress

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I'm new to the hobby. I'm attempting a fishless cycle of a 36 gallon bow front with clear ammonia. All was going as expected for three weeks. My ammonia stayed at 4 for awhile. Then it started going down and then went to 0 as nitrites skyrocketed off my API color chart. I then started daily dosing ammonia back to 4 ppm while nitrite stayed high for over a week.

A few days ago, I wanted to get nitrite to a level where I could at least match it to my API test kit chart, so I did a 50% water change. During the change, I accidentally overdosed Seachem Prime by about 4 times the expected amount. I have read that this is okay, though. I then dosed ammonia again to 4 ppm.

For three days now, ammonia refuses to go back down. Also nitrite stayed extreme purple (off chart). Yet this morning, I test and ammonia is still high, but nitrite is finally 0!!! But what happened to my ammonia eating bacteria?? What should I do?

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_1701.jpg
    IMG_1701.jpg
    201 KB · Views: 172
A couple of additional notes.

1. I have a Seachem AmmoniaAlert wheel in my tank. It is yellow, showing no ammonia. That could be inaccurate because the overdosed Prime is probably masking the total ammonia count.

2. My theory is that I overdosed ammonia because I forgot that my tap water is already 1ppm and I put in another full dose.