Fishless cycle help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jimmyno13

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok I have been cycling my tank for two weeks now. I can dose my ammonia to 4ppm and with in 12 hours it is back to 0. Nitrites on the other hand I can not even get to move. I just did a 50% water change and then checked my Nitrites and they where still high. I have yet to see any movement with these. My PH is holding steady at 8.2ish. My nitrates are also pretty high some where between 80 and 160. So it looks like the Nitrites bacteria is kind of working just not at full strength. Should I keep the ammonia low around 1ppm as best I can or keep it at around 4? I guess I am not sure on this. I have never done a fish less cycle before.

Hey Jimmy. I am the other person jj is talking about. Please keep posting your progress. I sure we aren't the only three and its might important for others to get an idea of how long this process takes. I have been fishless cycling for about 3 weeks. I have read alot of things and from what I gather this is a 4-5 week process. But every tank is different. Please post what you do from day to day or so just so we can collaborate what may speed things up or slow things down. Also if you have a minute do check out jj's thread. I am posting over there also. Cheers. X

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390996970.363533.jpg

Ok a quick shot of the empty tank.

Ammonia 0
Nitrites 5+
Nitrates n/a

Going to add enough ammonia to get it to about 1ppm just to keep them fed.

I have read that to high ammonia actually can stop the growth of the Nitrite bacteria also. Just a FYI.

I just dosed it with terra safestart. Had some I was going to use but the filter on my 30 gallon went out so I used it in there. Thanks. I want to do more but not sure what I can keep with Cichlids.