Fishless cycling and water changes question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XimeD

Aquarium Advice Freak
So, this is my first time fishless cycling. I seeded my 75gal with a filter cartdridge from my 20gal (placed inside the canister filter of the 75gal) and some gravel, set the temp to 84/85F and have dosed with 10% ammonium hydroxide daily to a concentration of 2-3ppm. Only things in there are slate rocks stuck with aquarium safe silicone, a large piece of driftwood (still leaching some tannins but very little) and substrate is playsand. Rocks and drifwood were boiled before they went in the tank.

It's been slightly over a week since I started and I have needed to do 2 >95% WCs so far because my nitrites keep going above 5ppm and I read this can stall the cycle. Last WC was a day ago and yesterday the parameters 2 hours after WC were slighlty>2ppm, 0.5ppm and 5ppm ammonia/nitrites/nitrates respectively. pH is 7.4 and steady (no surprise there since my water is very hard, it'd probably take some conc. HCl to shift that pH)

One day later: 0.5ppm/>5ppm/160ppm. This seems pretty excessive to me, that my nitrites and nitrates are going up so fast. Should I just do pretty much daily 100% WCs to keep those nitrites below 5ppm? Have other ppl run into this?

I'm bummed caused I thought I wouldn't need to do so many WCs for fishless cycling (don't get me wrong I think its the way to go, I will never cycle with fish again because I think it's cruel to the fish unless u really really know what ure doing and I am nowhere near that), but from what I read it doesn't seem like ppl need to do such extreme WCs