Flame Tetra Carrying Eggs? (Pics Provided)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mandy2936

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey! :)

Okay well here is my current tank info:
20g High-
6 Neon Tetras
5 Orange Von Rio Flame Tetras
4 Julii Cories
3 Male Guppies

The tank was established in August '10 and everyone seems to be happy and doing well as of now.
This morning I went down to feed my fish and noticed that one of my Flame Tetras appears to have an obnoctiously large stomach. It stands out compared to the other 'normal looking' Von Rios. It is not smooth but has bulges in the stomach that look like eggs to me. I'd say considering the fact that Flame Tetras breed easily it's quite possible this fish is carrying eggs.

Now, I have zero experience with raising and breeding fish so I could be totally wrong, but yeah to me this fish looks 'pregnant' (Or whatever you call an egg-carrying fish).

When I first added the 5 Von Rios to my tank I had no intentions of breeding the fish at all. I figured if anything happens the eggs will be eaten in no time by other fish in the tank, BUT... now that it actually might happen I feel quite differently about it. I don't want these babies to get eaten! I think it would be awesome if I could raise them :)

However, here are the PROBLEMS/QUESTIONS:
#1: I know that my tank cannot handle a bunch of new fish! I understand that the babies will not be able to live and grow up in this tank considering the fact that they will be eaten and there simply is not much room left for more Tetras.
#2: I was thinking of putting one of those plastic breeding traps in the tank. I'm not sure if this would work (?) because I have only heard of them being used with livebearers.
~If this would work, based on the pics, how long until I should move the Tetra into the trap?