Foam?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RDouglas50

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to aquariums and raising fish and stuff, so I'm getting started on a 10gal for my betta. Everything but the tank and hood is brand new, and I rinsed everything off and filled the tank with water and got it all set up nice and pretty. Three days later I have this foam forming on the top layer, I thought since it was an old tank maybe there was soap residue in the tank. So I drain the entire tank, new sand, new filter cartridge, everything left was rinsed in scalding hot water, soaked and scrubbed with a new soft-bristled tooth brush in vinegar, and rinsed again in scalding hot water. Filled up the tank again, and I'm on the second day of the cycle and I see the foam starting to foam again. I did a bit more research and found out that it may be the water conditioner. Does anybody have this problem with Tetra BettaStart?

Not sure if it's the BettaStart, but I wouldn't use that stuff anyway. Are you doing a fish-in cycle with the Betta or a fishless? If you want to help the cycle along try to get some filter media from an established healthy tank and add it to your filter. The bacteria in a bottle stuff doesn't usually work, although you may get lucky.

Are you sure the tank was thoroughly drained and cleaned? I'd take it outside and put a hose to it, refill it and empty it a number of times, then refill and try again but don't add the Betta start and see what happens.

librarygirl said:
Not sure if it's the BettaStart, but I wouldn't use that stuff anyway. Are you doing a fish-in cycle with the Betta or a fishless? If you want to help the cycle along try to get some filter media from an established healthy tank and add it to your filter. The bacteria in a bottle stuff doesn't usually work, although you may get lucky.