Frustrated

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BLUEYES

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So im new to this about 6wks in. I have a 29 gallon tank with 1 pleco, 6 platys, and 2 mollies. My water is brackish. I have already dealt with the ich issue and have just got rid of it :oops:. My question now is my ammonia has spiked and has stayed at a 2 - 4 level for over 2wks now. My ph is 6.8 nitrite and nitrates are 0. I just put ammonia safe in yesterday since some of there gills are red. My ammonia isnt dropping but i've heard that can be normal when adding this chemical. I just ordered Bio-Spira so i hope that will help with cycling my tank. I also do 20-25% water changes weekly thats not seeming to help. Any advice would be appreciated.

You need to do some big water changes and get that Ammonia down to a level less than 0.5. This may require multiple water changes in one day. The fish are being harmed. Test frequently and do frequent water changes to get keep the ammonia down. Mollies and Plecos are big waste generators so you need to keep a close eye on the levels.

6 weeks in, you should be getting nitrites. Seeding the tank is certainly a good idea, but in the meantime, I would agree lots of pwc's are needed. During a fishy cycle, daily water changes are the norm.

Ammonia binders are really just stop gaps. They do break down so you have to keep adding it daily. <And unless you have a salicylate ammonia kit, that can tell bound from unbound ammonia, you have no idea if your tank is safe or not, or how much additional binders to add.> Personally, I would rather remove the ammonia with pwc's. <Yes, that will slow down the cycle, but it is much better for the fish.>

BTW - what is your tank temp? Colder tanks take longer to cycle .... and unheated goldfish tank might take 4-6 months .... bring up the temp is one thing you can do if it is low.