FW Migration from Canister FX5 to Sump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

billberet

Aquarium Advice Freak
well I've been fishkeeping for 30+ years and I've always had canisters on the FW side of the house. but I am tired of cleaning them and they become a nitrate factory. so I decided to build a system that never needs a water change or cleaning. So far so good, all my chems are 0 and I do a 40GPD drip system that creates a full water change every 7 days.

lets start with my original system, simple, one 150gal FW with a UV and FX5.
you can see the beginnings of my drip system with my carbon block RO system on the wall feeding the tank.
60421-albums12766-picture70024.jpg

lets start with my overflow, I have a eshopps 1100.
I modified it by removing one of the tubes and replaced it with a 1/2 inch flex tube, which I punctured with a hard airline tube that runs to a LIfter pump to my sink, but i'll get to that later. the trick with overflows is to properly match the return pump to your overflow. I knew the 1100 was too high so all you have to do is replace your overflow tubes to adjust that volume. I never have to worry about air bubbles because I made the flow almost identical so there is a tremendous head pressure in those lines, sounds like a jet engine. NO bubbles can survive. it's a simple fix that most people don't do, they leave their bubbles and get pumps to fix it, granted I have a pump on mine, but it serves a different purpose.
60421-albums12766-picture70250.jpg

my overflow then goes into my RS-300 from eshopps, I took all the media out of my fx5 and put it in the second chamber, after the filter socks, this way the water is cleaned before passing over the media. then it travels into the second section which is full of K1 micro and fluidized.
60421-albums12766-picture70249.jpg