Getting rid of Green spot algae ...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

maricutie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi!

I'm currently trying to get rid of green spot algae in my 10Gal tank, and i have tried almost everything. The lighting is moderate at 2 watts/gal b/c i have java ferns, brazilian swords, banana plant and tons of anarchis -- in general, requiring pretty low levels of light.

The lights are on only 8 hrs a day, which i hear is minimum. They're on a timer, so i know for sure. If this algae was on the glass (which, strangely, its not) I wouldnt complain, but the thing is it's on my brazilian swords and java ferns. i did a huge clean up about 2 weeks ago and massive pruning to get rid of this stuff, but if i keep cutting off the leaves i'll have nothing left. The algae only seems to grow on the older leaves ...

I'm a college student on a budget, so I'm trying to figure out how to solve this cheaply. I'm currently doing 25% water changes weekly in hopes of solving this, but to no avail so far (2 weeks). i may increase it to everyother day if this doesn't help out. Thinking of using some algedicide (algone? algaefix?) b/c i can't find anything to get rid of it on the plants ...
If you know of anything I haven't yet tried please, please let me know!! thanks!!!