Ghost shrimp

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AllElseFailed

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I know there have been many threads about berried ghost shrimp, but I didn't see the question or answer that I was looking for. I just got 6 ghost shrimp from my LFS, and noticed that 2 of them are berried. After reading all of the wonderful advice here, I am going to buy a small 2.5G tank tonight. My question is...many of the small tanks like this come in a kit with a under gravel filter. Since the shrimp get their food mostly from picking at the gravel, will an under gravel filter still work, or should I just make sure and buy a small sponge type filter instead? This is my first time having ghost shrimp, so don't know too much about them other than what I've read. I know the fry are hard to keep alive, but I feel that I must give it my all! Thanks for the help!

I would skip the under gravel filter for sure. Get a sponge.. it will work better, provide a food source and not damage baby shrimp, if you are successful in getting babies.

You really need to let the tank cycle and mature before you get shrimp, or else they are unlikely to do very well. And the babies don't have a chance in a newly cycled tank, there just isn't enough biofilm or micro fauna in the water to sustain them.

Thanks! I appreciate the advice! My tank isn't newly cycled though...it's well established. Just restocked due to my 3 year old Koi dying and switched back over to tropicals. I did allow 3 weeks with no fish before restocking. The koi needed to be in a pond....

Anyway, I bought a 1.5G last night and used plant and decoration from established tank and water from my established tank to house the moms. I did skip the under gravel filter. However, one died before I even got her moved. :( I wish it wasn't so hard to keep these babies going!