Goldfish Feeding

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Christina717

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi everyone! So I have a goldfish named Midas, hes an Oranda goldfish(black/blue) but anyways, I love watching him swim hes a little guy, maybe 1.5inch(that includes his tail). How much should I be feeding him pellet wise? I give him 2pellets a day. Is that enough for him? He always seems still hungry but I heard that they beg ALOT, and he does. Sometimes he will see a moving airbubble and chase it and eat it,then spit it out because its not food. I dont want him to starve but I dont want him to become big TOO fast.

Tank: 29gallons
Fish: 1 Oranda goldfish, 1 mystery snail
-Temp stays at 70F-72F-
-Tank is cycled-
-Feeding: 1pellet around 10am, 1pellet at 10pm. Planning on feeding peas every Sunday as a snack.-

I'm no expert, but he should be eating more than that. Goldfish have no stomachs, so they should be fed small amounts a few times a day. But this is just what I've read.

Hi there,

I would only feed them sparingly once or twice a day. Never give in when fish want food, it could lead to overfeeding and problems in the future, my grandma and I only feed out goldfish sparingly every day or other day. They have quite the bio-load.

Also, make sure they're sinking pellets. Fancy goldfish can swallow in air if the pellets aren't sinking to the bottom and when they gulp in air it messes up their intestines or some internal organ due to their odd shape. Just make sure!

thnx for the input, I never had a goldfish live for more than a week or 2(Due to not cycling) they all got ick and died...and the fact that I had 6 goldfish in a 10gallon. So I lucky I found this site because its been about a week and my fish is still goin strong and looks healthy.