Goldfish growing at different rates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Roz

Aquarium Advice Freak
This may seem like a really dumb question (I am a complete novice), but why do some Fantail goldfish grow at much fast rates than others, and with different body shapes?

My "babies" are growing in very different ways, and I am worried I might be doing the wrong thing by them in their feeding routine.

Mr Stripes (the orange guy in the pics below) is easily several times bigger than he was when I bought him in August 2013. He is also lean and long. Spotty, on the other hand (the calico fellow), who has always had a more rotund shape, is growing more slowly and is much rounder.

They are both very good eaters!

I have noticed the same phenomenon in my other tank. Jasper has grown massively since I rescued him in November, 2013, while Oscar and Rupert are growing much more slowly. Jasper has a long, lean shape while the other two are shorter and rounder.

I make sure everyone gets a fair share of food by watching them closely during mealtimes, so their environment is similar. But I am worried as I don't really know how much to feed - I feed them the following, and would like advice as to whether I am over feeding:

1. Breakfast - Hakari pellets - what they can eat in 5 minutes, but I sprinkle a very few around the tank for them to find later as a surprise, which they love searching for.

2. Dinner - either the same as above or frozen brine shrimp.

3. Supper - peas (they won't touch any other veggie, but love chewing on their hair grass).

If feeding is ok, is it genetics? Possibly Mr Stripes and Jasper have some Common Goldfish background?

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390267026.539334.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390267115.554640.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390267146.788082.jpg