Good Beginner Corals

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Yellow Jobber

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 29gal sw tank with live rock. I bought a new Power Compact light with 2 65watt 10000k and acintic blue bulbs. I was wondering what may be some good corals to start with? I was thinking Yellow Fiji Leather.

What do I feed corals? I know that many are filter feeding and Kent has a whole line of liquid foods for corals but which one(s) do I need to use? I've had my FOWLR tank for 3 or 4 years now and think I'm ready to take this step.

i have a bubble coral and its going fine. im new to saltwater though :)

My first corals were Frogspawn, Trumpet Coral, and Zoos. Some other good beginners are Bubble, Mushrooms, and Button Polyps.

You really dont need to feed them anything. They should get what they need from the lighting. They will also get some food from the water column when you do feedings. Although, since I have a semi heavy filter feeder load (ie.. Clam, Scallop, numerous feather dusters, coco worm) I also use phytoplanton. I use DT's Live phytoplankton. You must be VERY careful when adding feeding supplements....If you use too much, it will fowl your tank. I use about 1/2 to 1/3 of whatever the recommended dose is on the bottle.

This is all IMEO. Things could be different for you.

The yellow fiji leather should do well. I have several small ones after fragging mine last year and the oringal is back to where I'm thinking about fragginig it again.

Be very careful about buying special foods and supplements. The leathers and mushrooms generally get all they need from the water column and lighting.

Please ask here or read about the species you intend to get before you buy it. Asking about a coral here will get you some good advice about placement, care, etc.

Good luck