Gouramis and fish dying!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

justinegraham

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,
I am new to this site and this my first thread so i hope i get it right.
I have got a 30l biorb with
6 tetras
1 rummy nose tetra
2 phatoms
1 female neon swordtail
2 cherry barbs
2 bottom feeders
2 guppys
2 gouramis.

I have had my tank for about 3 months so i am still learning about the art of keeping fish.

Recently i had to replace 4 guppys as they all died within 3 days of getting them, i felt that the guy that sold them to me was a bit rough with them so i don't know if that had something to do with it.
Also i lost a phantom not long after that. I had the water checked which was ok just a little high on the nitrate.
Touchwood i haven't lost any in the last week.
2 of my neon tetras have big white growths on their mouths they don't seem bothered by it they are still swimming about and are still eating.
Wonder if anyone had any ideas?
Also i had a neon male sword tail that i had to get rid of because he seemed to be bullying the other fish especially the gouramis, but now the guppys are constately pecking at the gouramis they don't do it any of the others and none of the others peck at the gouramis. Any thoughts of why they would do this, i know that guppys can be annoying to other fish!
I do 20% water change everyweek and have recently changed the filter the water is sometimes cloudy after a water change is this normal?
Hope you can help.;)

TOO MANY FISH. Cut that crew in half (at least) and SLOW everything down to a crawl. STOP the construction project and just ENJOY the vibe. Sit down and let nature unfold. Most pet shops are only too happy to take free fish.

Wait ANOTHER 3 months before you add anymore fish. 10 max.

I disagree with everything that JAB has said
That many fish in a 30gal is fine.