Gravel or sand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Liz1275

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I'm trying to find out which is better gravel or sand? I'm new to this fish thing and I'm learning as I go I have gravel right now but I'm finding that EVERYTHING (food and poop) sinks. When I do the water changes it seems to stir everything up and makes the tank look dirty. So would sand be better. And I don't have any algae eaters well I just got 2 little snails but should I get some thing like the catfish that eat off the bottom.

well it depends every1 one has their own opinion i like the look of sand plus all the food stays at the top but might be a little bit difficult to clean at the begging i mean u will be sucking sand everytime but at the beginning u will be sucking alot more and with gravel u wont suck anything and sand looks more natural imo

It depends on what kind of habitat your fish need. What kind of fish do you have?

I'm new too. I changed from gravel to sand today. Lots of work washing the sand, but well worth it looks wise. My red tail shark and Cory cats were all lovin it. At least they seem happy.

I have 2 mollies, peacock eel, clown knife, sunburst, dwarf gourami

If you have sand and bottom feeding fish how often would you have to REALLY clean the sand?

Ok so once a week I do the partial water change and that's when your saying to clean the sand? I think I'm really just not understanding. So I have this vacuum thing that I got today and it just sucks up some rooks and water and then the rocks fall back down so is that really cleaning or should I be doing something more then that I just really don't feel as if I'm getting the tank as clean as I should when I look at other peoples tanks theirs seem so much cleaner then mine