Green algae overkill

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lthrbecks

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there

Up until a few months ago, my 30l tank was free from algae. Its almost three years old. Since around two years ago, I've removed both the CO² and live plants too. Im having trouble with green algae sticking to the glass. This didn't used to be a problem! I only use the light for 6hrs max per day as I've no living plants anymore. I carry out a water change, every two weeks of approximately 25%. I haven't checked my ammonia levels in the last six months. I change the filter about every six to eight weeks.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks
Mark Moorhead

I'm not an expert, but when that happens I use algaefix, you can buy it at pet shops.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Algae grows anywhere there is light and water. Add some nutrients from fish food and waste, and the aquarium is a perfect place for algae.

The best way to control algae is to reduce light and nutrients, and have live plants in the tank. You got rid of the live plants so there is nothing left but algae to use the light and nutrients.

If you have no plants in the tank, you only need a dim light on the tank in the evening when you are home. If you have bright lights from when you had plants before, reduce the intensity and amount of time the light is on.

Or add some live plants. Floating plants like Water Sprite (Ceratopteris thalictroides/ cornuta) will use light and nutrients and shade the tank so algae will have a tough time growing. Other floating plants can also be used and you don't have to fertilise them or use CO2.

------------------