Hello Everyone I am New to the Forum!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Coyote251

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello Everyone, I just wanted to make a quick post as I have just joined the forum. I am relatively new to keeping an aquarium. My 2yr old loved the fish in the pet store so we bought him a little beta tank. The beta lasted about 4 weeks and then had to make the short journey down the porcelin highway. I felt really bad about this so I started doing some research and found out that keeping those fish in that environment is pretty cruel. I wanted to get an aquarium that I would have a better chance of controlling the environment. Friends of ours had a little 5 gallon setup that they didn't want, so I set it up and cycled it. I added 6 Harrlequin Rasborras after a few weeks, and they are doing well. I did some more research after this and found out that this is also a hard tank to run, and I was having trouble keeping the gravel clean and not drain out to much water. I now clean the gravel weekly and have configured a plastic pop bottle into a filter I returned the filtered water to the tank and then change out about 20%. I don't know if this is right or wrong but my weekly water tests have all been good since and the fish seem to be thriving. After having success with this tank I wanted to upgrade so I went out last night and bought a 33gallon setup. I have planted some plants in the tank and am going to the beach tomorrow to look for some rock and wood this is where my questions start:
1) Can I boil the rocks and driftwood and add it to my tank? My only concern is the salt from the driftwood, chemicals are not a concern for me. Will any salt in the water affect the fish, or will the content be so low that it will cycle out in a few weeks?