HELP- New tank setup- killed all fish in 3 hours

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joeyfromlawrenceville

Aquarium Advice Activist
Gang I'm in need advice and opinions,
First off, I'm a FW noob. My history is with salt water , many many years with salt tanks.
I set up my daughter a tank a few hours ago, just went to look at it and all the fish are dead on the bottom of the tank, or stuck in the fake grass ornaments.
Here is the set up:
Aquapod 24 ,once used as a reef tank, pulled from years of storage in my closet , last night I bleach water cleaned the tank, rinsed, refilled , rinsed and dechlorinated with stress coat. Filled with my own RO-DI water last night, put heater in , bottom gravel in, and allowed to run overnight.
Tonight:
We drip accumulated 6 Glo Tetras after a 15 minute float, and introduced them into tank.
Also put in recommended amount of the API quick start stuff to kick off the cycle like the store said to do.
Put 2 blocks of sponge media in rear compartment.
Put one nylon bag of carbon ( rinsed) in rear compartment.

Left house for 3 hours and came home to all dead fish.

Parameters:
PH=6.8
Temp=74
Ammonia taken with my SW test = 0
chlorine =0 taken with dip sticks, quick pool test, and comprehensive pool water test with combined chlorine and free chlorine, all showing 0.

The one thing I didn't think about was a air stone, so no air stone in tank.

What am I missing here? Where to look for the answer? Did I forget something?
Thanks,
Joey

Hi, not sure, but I think RO water is supposed to be remineralized?

Firstly i personally always avoid bleach when cleaning the tanks, i prefer vinegar. Im not an RO-DI person myself but i think your supposed to just cut with tap water not 100% RO-DI. Besides that glo-light tetras would be fine in straight up tap water. Now to the dead fish