Help, new to fish keeping!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sammel88

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I have no idea if I'm doing this In the right place, I'm new to fish keeping and to using forums. I'm worried about my bristlenose, it's only young but I noticed his fins looked a little shabby. I haven't seen fin rot before, but Is this the start of it? How can I stop it getting worse? I am taking my water to be tested tomorrow so I do not know water parameters at the moment. I have had this tank set up for around 4 months. As you can see he's hanging around the heater, what's a good temp. Tank mates are 5 black neon tetras and 2 sail fin mollies. It's 90ltr Aqua one tank AR-620.ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394688286.693010.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394688316.198065.jpg

Welcome to AA! I am no expert, and cant answer your question on fin rot, but I will chime in on your other questions.
Plecos are nocturnal and like to hide while the lights are on, being between the heater and the glass is a comfy little spot for them. Make sure there are a few spots in the tank that are shaded from the lights(caves), that it can go to. The water temperature for your fish should be around 78°.

While you wait for someone else to respond on his fins I suggest a google search on BN Plecos, and see what info. Is out there that you didn't already know! You can also compare pictures and see how they look next to yours.
This forum has lots of BN owners and some breeders as well. Surely you'll get a response from someone that knows more soon!

Good luck!