Help with Sump Drain and Return Lines

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JoulesBurn

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I just got a second hand tank I'm planning to use as a new planted tank. It has a sump that I'm excited to use. They gave me a big bag of bio balls that they told me to soak half water half vinegar to regenerate then rinse really well? I haven't looked into this yet. Don't want to take their word for it.

But the first issue I have is that they had no hoses going from the tank drains to the sump PVC or return pump. I asked and they just said they'd been using flue hose but that it had cracked and couldn't tell me how they'd attached it. Any help would be appreciated. I've never used this filter method before and I'd like to not make a big mess of it.

Here's a tank view of the tank. I'm assuming it's also DIY. You can see the finger smear in the silicone along the bottom of the overflow plate. I thought I'd read that black silicone shouldn't be used in aquariums?

IMG_7395.jpg

Under the tank:

IMG_7404.JPG

And the PVC going into the wet/dry:

IMG_7413.JPG

The return pump is a Rio 2500. Not the plus version. I might need a new pump, though, they were also running is without the other half of its housing.

May I assume you are talking freshwater planted tank? Not that it would change my answers but this looks like an old saltwater tank. If so be sure to clean it thoroughly to remove salt residue and any other debris left behind.

First thing I would do - trash the bio-balls. Many people will tell you they are Nitrate factories. You can get better media unless you just WANT to use them. They will require frequent cleaning. You can put them in the dishwasher (NO SOAP) to clean them when necessary. Be aware though that this will kill off the majority of the bacteria growing on them, which is their true purpose.