High pH in Betta Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DougLewis

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to owning a Betta, inheriting him from my aunt. His tailfin's been badly damaged, and from the research I've done, this seems to be the result of tailbiting. And I have to guess that this is because he's been bored in his 3.5 gallon tank. So I splurged and got him a 10-gallon decked out with decorations that he can swim through and hide around.

The water quality is great - no nitrates or chlorine on the test strips, very soft water quality (I understand Bettas prefer that) - but the pH is remarkably high. It's always showing me what seems to be the max value on the strips, despite what I think has been six treatments now, over the course of the day. I live in the Great Lakes area, and I heard that may have something to do with it?

I've heard from a few sources that this isn't a big deal, but if one fish were picky about pH, it'd probably be a Betta, and like...the whole reason I got this tank was for him to have a better environment. Also, if it's this high, I'm worried that it might give him ammonia poisoning or something. Should I cycle it out with distilled water to bring the values down?

What do you understand about the nitrogen cycle?

Did you cycle the tank before adding your betta? If so, how did you do this? Or are you now cycling the tank with your betta in it? Or is this the first time you are hearing about cycling, and you dont know how to cycle a tank.

Do you know your other water parameters. Knowing pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate would be useful. In numbers. Do you know what these are both in your aquarium, and from the tap?

What sort of parameters did you see in your 3.5g tank?