How to combine the fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nucleus

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have very little experience with Aquariums. I bought a 120 Liters aquarium, filled it with water, and arranged the following water chemistry.

KH=8
GH=6
PH=6.5

I want to have the following fish.

Neon tetra
Angelfish
Discus

I’ve heard that Neon tetra and Angelfish will not coexist, because Angelfish will keep attacking the Neon tetra.

Is this true? Any suggestions on fish combinations?

Thanks

nucleus said:
I have very little experience with Aquariums. I bought a 120 Liters aquarium, filled it with water, and arranged the following water chemistry.

KH=8
GH=6
PH=6.5

Neon tetra
Angelfish
Discus

I’ve heard that Neon tetra and Angelfish will not coexist, because Angelfish will keep attacking the Neon tetra.

Thanks

Yeah angels won't attack tetras they will eat them lol. I also don't think that discus will be okay with angels either all though someone else may say otherwise. If this is your first tank can I suggest that discus are not for you. They are hard to keep even for an experienced person. I have had fish for ages and am on my third aquarium and I still don't feel comfortable enough to keep discus so I went to African cichlids instead. Do you know how to cycle your tank???

Yes, angelfish will make snacks out of the neon tetras. I think they may be their natural predator.

I also believe that the tank you have is too small for discus fish, but I'll let someone who has discus comment on that.

Ok, so angels are out. But I would really like to have Discus.

@James_in_MN
I think the size of my aquarium is good for 4 of them. And I was thinking of getting them when they are really small. Plus the tetras and a Ancistrus fish for cleaning, and I'm done.

@kenny69 W