How to mix cichlids in one tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Komodo

Aquarium Advice Activist
I know that not all cichlids can coexist. Is there a guide available on which ones can be mixed together in a single tank?

You talking about New/Old World?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I’m new to all of this; all I know for now is that cichlids are so beautiful. I also want to do it right. As for old world or new world, I don’t know the difference, can you recommend the ones that are easier to care for. I have an empty 90 gallon tank and a few accessories so I’m able to purchase whatever is needed for your recommendation.

I’m new to all of this; all I know for now is that cichlids are so beautiful. I also want to do it right. As for old world or new world, I don’t know the difference, can you recommend the ones that are easier to care for. I have an empty 90 gallon tank and a few accessories so I’m able to purchase whatever is needed for your recommendation.

So you've got AFRICAN Cichlids, these are Old World. These are the aggressive ones.

And AMERICAN Cichlids, these are New World. Things like Oscars, Jack Dempsey's ect..

I'm assuming that you're talking about Africans since I think you mentioned the aggression.

Well a 90G is a great place to start with Africans, you'll be able to keep most of them comfortably.

The thing with Africans is you need to overstock the tank in order to tone down the aggression and this means buffing your filtration.

Malawi Africans split into 3 main groups: Mbuna, Peacocks and Haps.

Mbuna are considered the most aggressive, they grow to around 5" and are herbivorous, they are generally pretty cheap and also very hardy.
They also have some of the more attractive colours to them, both males and females get rather good looking.