I gots the Ich >.<

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jaydizzle707

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Okay I'm FREAKING OUT my fish I think have ich I've had random deaths in my tank and just discovered these bubbles on my fish. I read the sticky now I need help I'm EXTREMELY new to fish keeping in lamens terms what do I do?

I have 4 Neon Tetras

1 Cherry Barb (in picture)

and 1 Orange Guppy ( In picture)

in step by step what do I do to treat them I don't want my buddies to die

Here is the picture

mail

Hi,
If you don't already have it, then it would be a good idea to go to the local pet store and pick up some medication and freshwater salt. A medicine I recommend would be a maracyn/Maracide brand one. The better ones are the dry powders, you want one that says ich on it, because that is what you said your fish have.

Copper safe doesn't seem to do much when I use it, not that it doesn't work that well. I just prefer the powders.

Then also if you could get it, some freshwater aquarium salt would be a good idea also. It's a good add in for the water to help fight off the infections and problems fish get. Every time time you drain the water of the tank, add the amount on the salt it says to add.

Once you get the medicine and everything I would also clean the tank pretty well. Drain some of the water and give them new water. Let the tank run a couple minutes then add in the medicine (make sure to follow the instructions) and possibly the salt ( directions also). Just make sure to try and not to cause much stress on the fish, more stress equals more infection and disease.

There are good medicines other them Marcel brand ones. They just seem to work a bit faster for me. But there are equally good all natural ones, but they are a bit harder to find.