I have babies!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HeatherW

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have baby mollies! I thought she was pregnant when I got her but I really didn't think she would have them so soon! I went out and bout some grass for hiding spots. I hope some are smart! I have seen my gourami eat at least 4-5 already

HeatherW said:
I have baby mollies! I thought she was pregnant when I got her but I really didn't think she would have them so soon! I went out and bout some grass for hiding spots. I hope some are smart! I have seen my gourami eat at least 4-5 already

Congratulations! That happened to my friend, the little fish grew up to only about an inch and then something got him just recently lol. I'm no expert on breeding (or anything on fish for that matter) but I dont think it's a good idea to keep fry with gourami. Especially since you've already lost some.

They are all hunting them! How long will this go on? Poor little guys!?

Im not sure, I'm not an expert on this. But I assume that the fry will eventually be eaten unless they are hiding (Which they probably are).

Well yes I am sure some are hiding but the pet store guy said they will have to get pretty big to be safe from the gourami. He said maybe neon tetra big! ? how long will that take?

If you want them to live, take them out or put them in a mesh breeder.
Even if they get full today and stop eating, they will hunt again tomorrow!

cheeky_monkey said:
If you want them to live, take them out or put them in a mesh breeder.
Even if they get full today and stop eating, they will hunt again tomorrow!

Congrats !! Yes I would do this ^ I have my own fry tank because my platy eat their baby's or have a lot more hiding places and where gourami can't get in.

Do I need to feed everyone more often now?