I lost a razor blade in my tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Floyd R Turbo

Aquarium Advice Addict
Today I was fragging some xenia and anthelia for someone and dropped a razor blade into the tank. 4 people there an no one saw it happen. Can't find it.

It's gold colored and titanium coated. I got a magnet from an old algae scraper and I'm going to attach it to a stick and go fishing.

If I can't find it, what the #$Q@%$ do I do, tear the tank apart???

My only problem is what if the fish flashes there. It could get cut and you might also.

Yeah you need to get that thing out. You could cut your finger open sometime, a fish could get injured too. Magnets are probably the best idea to find it.

I agree with the above post. I'm no expert, but it can't be good for the tank if that thing starts to rust..
Good luck finding it!! Let us know what happens.

I not sure about this but couldn't the metal rusting cause some damage to the tank

Yeah, a magnet should work. It is best for yours and the fishs' safety to get that the heck outta there, FAST! Good luck.

lol.. are you guys kidding? Here, let me put this as simple as possible. A razor blade is a flat object, with a thickness of 0.30 mm. There's a one in a million chance that the razor blade fell facing upwards on the rocks, or the sandbed, or whatever. It MOST LIKELY fell FLAT on one of its sides. So unless it fell in a crevice, and the actual blade part is sticking out far enough from the rock, NOTHING is going to be getting cut by that thing. Common sense people. It is HIGHLY unlikely that a fish or even someone's hand is going to get cut by this razor blade.