Ich Meds and Tank Moving Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Exarkun

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all. This is my first official post here on AA. I've been lurking for a while and decided I needed to show my face.

I have been doing some reading and browsing through post on here. I think I would like to start a small SW tank. I am a newb when it comes to fishes and I know a bigger tank would be the way to go, however I only have enough money to start a small maybe 20 gal tank. My friend has a 20 gal that he doesn't want anymore and free tanks really help my budget :D .

The free tank was used for a FW system. It also has been dosed with Ich medication about 5 months ago. I would like to make the tank a reef tank. Would this Ich medication prevent me from doing so? Is there a way I can ensure no copper will be in the tank when I use it?

Should I even attempt a 20 gal? I am willing to put the time in and I am a fast learner but will I only be setting myself up for failure?

I am probably going to be moving from my apt to a house within a year. Is this yet another reason to wait on a tank? I talked to a guy at a Petco near me and he seemed to think that a move would kill all the fish in tank. However I would think with a 20 gal it would be ok as long as we are not moving across the country.

Please help a newbie out. I really would like to get started with a 20 gal and eventually move up to a bigger (50+ gal) tank. Should I just wait a year until I have the funds and the move out of the way to start a tank. Or should I just keep the fish screen saver on my computer screen and use my imagination.