Ideas on a tank for mental hospital?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nurserachett

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all!
I am a nurse in a new psych hospital in Massachusetts. Despite all the money spent on nonsense, the place feels barren and depressing to me. No plants or nature anywhere. The people here are Really Really mentally Ill. Some are violent on occasion, often for reasons well beyond their control. I don't know one that I think is faking.
Anywho, I would like to put a tank in the common area. I'm sure I don't have to tell you folks how therapeutic it could be. There are a lot if windows between rooms, and I was thinking it could be built into or against these?. I am trying to figure out how to present this plan to administration in a way that will convince them it is both safe, and cheap. I am a tank amateur so any ideas would be greatly appreciated. If this works, maybe we could add more/bigger tanks and really spice the place up! Thanks 4 reading.

Welcome to the site. Sounds like a great idea. Define cheap though... depending on what type and size aquarium, you're looking at $500 minimum for something really small and simple, all the way up to thousands (read as SEVERAL thousand) for a bigger, more extravagant tank (like a high tech planted or reef tank).

IMO, here's what you'd need to start-

20 gallon or more tank
Good lights(go to amazon.com)
A HOB filter
Sand
Some branchy driftwood
Stones
Easy plants

Then you could make a simple Iwagumi tank, very calming.
I'll add a stock in a minute.