Is this algae on driftwood?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

celtic11

Aquarium Advice Regular
This is my first time having a tank with real driftwood in it so I'm unsure if this is algae or something else? Just making sure its not something to be concerned about. My bristlenose pleco hasn't touched it. Its the dark brownish fuzzy looking stuff on the bottom of the driftwood.

ForumRunner_20131128_083932.jpg

This is BBA. You can treat with syringe without needle on the spots with peroxyde 3%.

You can spot treat up to 3ml/gallons of peroxyde 3% in the tank (with seringe), but the best thing you can do, is remove your DW, scratch the algae spots, put peroxide on where the BBA spots were, let it dry, retreat again after few hours and it should be clean.

If you treat in the tank, turn off the filters before doint it then turn it ON after 15 mins after treatement. The algae will become lighter and pink over days and will finish to die. You can treat once a day.

Do you inject CO2, what's your gallon size ? Lighting power ? Lighting time/day? Do you use a timer for lights/CO2 ? How much time your tank is cycled and running ?

Usually this is caused by excess of light compared to the CO2 levels.

This is BBA. You can treat with syringe without needle on the spots with peroxyde 3%.

You can spot treat up to 3ml/gallons of peroxyde 3% in the tank (with seringe), but the best thing you can do, is remove your DW, scratch the algae spots, put peroxide on where the BBA spots were, let it dry, retreat again after few hours and it should be clean.

If you treat in the tank, turn off the filters before doint it then turn it ON after 15 mins after treatement. The algae will become lighter and pink over days and will finish to die. You can treat once a day.