Is this possible? Cycle question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pookawolf

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I'm not a beginner but it has been a while since I've had a fish tank. I've got a 40 breeder that I started cycling Sunday evening. I added 1/4 cup of ace ammonia and a pinch of ground up fish food. Needless to say the ammonia tested off the charts (teal within 30 seconds). I did almost a 100% water change (I left some water at the bottom of tank and in the filter). That brought the ppm down to 6 (between 4 and 8 on my liquid test). I didn't seed the tank at all.

I tested the tank on a whim this evening and the ammonia dropped to 2ppm and I have .5ppm nitrites...I didn't think I would see a drop in ammonia for another week. Could this really be happening this quickly?

It is weird for it to happen that fast. Just double check the tests and see what you get. If they are the same then you are just having a fairly fast cycle thus far.

It is weird for it to happen that fast. Just double check the tests and see what you get. If they are the same then you are just having a fairly fast cycle thus far.

agree with adadkins1 about double checking your tests ... that is a fast cycle.
Did you use any seeding material? Substrate / filter media / decor from an established tank? Bacteria in a bottle?

Ok I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks this is a bit too good to be true. Absolutely everything is new or hasn't been used in over 5 years (decided to use my old aqua clear filter but I got new sponges for it). I've got 2 heaters, 2 filters, 45lbs aquarium gravel mixed with 65lbs eco complete, a place for my future fish to hide. The only thing besides ammonia in there is/was some ground up fish food (a small packet came with the tank so I decided it might not hurt to add a pinch to my relatively sterile box of water).