Is this rocksacping OK ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Maurice2

Aquarium Advice Regular
*bows politely* Greetings :D

I'm a complete newbie, both to aquariums and this forum, where there seems to be a lot of wise people. I'd like to ask for advice on rockscaping, as I haven't been able to find any threads on the subject.

I've had built a 126-gallon FOWLR, wet-dry, sump, filled it 10 days ago, added 25Kgs of LR and as much ceramic/dead rock decorations 3 days ago. 2 55W T5 lights. At the moment I have 24°C, 1.0215, Ph 8, NH4 0.1 NO2 0.2, NO3 0, PO4 0.6 and Ca 420. I'm thinking about a semi-aggresive tank as suggested in The New Saltwater Aquarium, I'd also like to have some inverts, at least for the cleanup crew.

I've read that one is supposed to provide lots of hiding places. My ceramic decor has loads of tunnels and so forth, and I've tried to arrange the rocks to make as many crannies as possible, the question is: Is what I've done acceptable? I understand that it's hard to judge from a picture, but any comments would be appreciated. (The plants are all plastic).

Front view:
AquariumFront2NoBackS.jpg

Side view:
AquariumSide1s.jpg

Thanks in advance :wink:

Welcome to Aquarium Advice!

Looks like a good start. I like the shape of some of that artificial rock, the big scoops look like great spots for placing corals if you ever go that way.

The whimisical figures are saltwater safe?

What kind of fish are you planning to keep? That can affect aquascaping. An eel is likely to knock down anything elaborite, while other delicate species won't survive without a tank chock-full of rock.

Thanks for the prompt reply!

Ah-ha, so eels will knock things over? Does that mean you have to "stick" you rockscape together in some way?