Just getting started

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DRad2003

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi. I am new to fish. I recently got a 5 gallon aquarium. It has a hood, filter, and heater. I would like some advice on where to start with a few small fish, plants, or any ideas really. Thank you.

Welcome! A 5 gallon will be little limited on what fish you can have, but do you have any species that you have in mind? Also do you know about cycling your tank? Im sure someone will chime in with a link to some more information.

Hi, and welcome to Aquarium Advice! :D

First things first - do you know about 'cycling'? If not there are a bunch of threads on it in the 'Getting Started' forum.

When your tank is 'cycled', you can start adding your fish! In a 5 gallon you could a small school of nano fish - Endler's Livebearers, Microrasboras e.g. or a Betta.

Hope I helped a little.

:fish2:

Thank you for the quick replies! It is ok if I am limited to what I can do right now. I'd like to start small and work my way up. I am not sure what species I want. I am not to familar with any other than what I go fishing for. Haha. I have read many of the stickies on cycling already. Also what would be good for the plants and such for this tank?

I looked them up just now and they are some slick looking fish. That's kind of what I had in mind. Now I guess my next question would be how many can go in the tank?

There are lots of different nano fish. Here are some:

Endler's Livebearer,
Mosquito Rasbora (Chili Rasboras),
Celestial Pearl Danio (Galaxy Rasboras),
Sparkling Gourami,
Dwarf/Dainty/Pygmy Corydora

Betta Splendens (this one isn't really classed as a nano fish, but is definitely perfect for a 5 gallon).

African Dwarf Frogs (not even a fish, but still commonly kept in small aquaria).

Some invertebrates you could keep are:

Red Cherry Shrimp,
Amano Shrimp,