LED Lights Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheCrazyFishLady

Aquarium Advice Addict
First off, I am very new to LED lighting or lighting in general, so bare with me here.

I saw the commercial for LED Lights, Bulbs & Accessories - SUPER BRIGHT LEDS

So, could these be used on an aquarium? Like, a 12 inch waterproof light? They are like $20 on here, which is crazy cheap!

I was looking at one with this description:

WLF-xW30SMD: WLF-xW30SMD series 30 High Power LED Waterproof Light Fixture

• 12 inch Waterproof Light Fixture sealed in aluminum housing
  • 12VDC operation with 12 inch power wires on both ends
  • 30 Cool White or Warm White 3528SMD LEDs with 120 degree beam pattern
  • Integrated Mounting Magnets included
  • Mount with Magnets, Foam Tape or Mounting Clips sold below
It's $19.99 and comes in cool or warm white. What's the difference between these two colors?

Thanks!
http://www.superbrightleds.com/cgi-bin/store/index.cgi?action=DispPage&Page2Disp=/led_prods.htm

Depending on the size of the tank you may need two to four of them but, yes, the will light you aquarium. No good for plants though, for that you will a different kind of LED.

I honestly don't know, but definitely the price is really gooood.
With that kind of price, I will give it a try.... Worst scenario, is that the lights are not to good and don't last long.

I will try the color that sounds more white than the others.

LED light here, are about 80 dollars minimum,for a small one.

All I can add is I loved the LED light fixture from marineland on my smaller tanks but when I hit the 75g mark I tried the ML double bright LED fixture and it just didn't to the tank justice so I returned it.

I went to the T5 high output fixtures and I'm much more happy and he lights the tank up nicely.

Convict2161 said: