Lfs water or use prime?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tyler3533

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I've been pondering on this for awhile. I have a 29 gallon tank that I am about to set up in the next couple days. But I can't decide what I want to do about the water. My lfs sells water that is amazon. It is 85 cents per gallon for plant water. I am in the midwest so I am told that our water has very high minerals and ph. What would you guys suggest. I am new to aquariums and want my tank to be healthy. Should I spend the extra money and get the plant water or should I just use prime and see how things go?

Where in the midwest, and that plant water isnt what you need to start a tank, you need some good filter sponge goo.

Relax a bit, you should spend $30 and go grab a API master freshwater water test kit, its a very cheap investment to understand where you tank is and it lasts a long time.

you need to test your tap water out of the tap and one that has sat out overnight there is a gas off period where the results will change from out of the tap to 24 hours later. Since you have a 29g tank, a tap water filter will be yet another cheap investment for you, the best part is its portable, and does not interfere with the sink taps functions at all. It removed the contaminants from the water.

But as far as that "amazon water" goes I wouldnt do it to any of my tanks, ask the LSF if they have any sponges you can squeeze into a 5g bucket of your tanks water(take it with you but call first)

Im in the midwest and I went to RO filters because with every good rain we get the tap parameters changed and that was a big NO NO with the kind of fish I keep.

Tank Water