lighting for a nano....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mr Burns

Aquarium Advice FINatic
hey all, i'm a newbie to you salties! most of the time i hang around the freshwater planted tank forum, but i think i'd like to set up a 10 gallon nano reef. i understand most of what's going on except for the lighting. i'd like to keep coral, though i'm not sure exactly what kind just yet...i'm still a few months off from setting this up as my planted 85gal is priority numero uno :) i was checking out the setups for some nano tanks and they had a 96W powercompact bulb on a 10 gallon tank!!! that seemed excessive to me, but i'm probably wrong. would the 1x36 kit from AHSupply with the 10k/actinic combo be enough? i could go to the 2x36, but only if that's absolutely necessary. i'll probably DIY the hood. any other links/info would be great. thanks in advance!

I would get the Coralife 20" aqualight. It has a 96 watt quad bulb. Basically it is a shortend 96 watt bulb that is only 18"

huh, ok. i'm still in planted tank mode, so you'll have to bare with me. how necessary is 96w on a 10 gallon tank?? i'm just thinking about this from the perspective of heat and algae. if i were to go with 1x36 or 2x36, in what ways would that limit would coral i could keep? i'm trying to keep this as simple as possible b/c my main focus is the planted tank....

Really the lowest i would go would be the 96 watt bulb. Heat will not be that bad. You can purchase the aqualegs and lift it up 2 3/4" off the tnak. Current USA doe have a 2-40 watt Orbit fixture but the best bang for the buck would be the coralife 20" aqualight.