Looking for brackish tank set up...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

milhous3er

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi all, i'm new to FW (but have a SW tank for about 6 months now, and its thriving !!!) and I want to set up a 20g long tank to keep my feeders in. I'm looking at only keeping ghost shrimp and some mollies. My plan is to get this tank brackish, with a salinity around 1.009 or so. I've skimmed over the cycling thread for FW, but there is none for brackish. I'm leaning towards it being the same a cycling a SW tank, and if thats the case then i'm pretty knowledgeable about that. I could just throw some live rock out of my DT and place it in there to speed up the cycle ??

With my tank only being 20g, I should be alright with just a hob filter right (for flow) and a heater ???

1. I have never had a saltwater tank, but I would be surprised if a light/moderate brackish setup like you are talking about would be able to keep the live rock, well, alive. Probably would have to ask a true saltwater expert about that. If the brackish water isn't salty enough to keep the live rock alive, then it's not going to help your cycle any as all the organisms in there will simply die.

2. There is no reason you couldn't cycle a brackish tank like you would a freshwater tank.