lots of water changes???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sansouci01

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Well, finally bought a ro/di system. Guess I'm hooked now..lol. Anyway, I've been battling hair algae for a couple of months now with no success. I do 25% weekly water changes. Now that I can make my own water whenever I want, would it help with my algae problem by doing water changes daily for a while or would that be a waste of time? I feed only a couple times a week, my parameters are good but I'm sure that my nitrates and phosphates are not reading because of the algae. I've cut my lighting down to about 6 hours a day. My zoas and star polyps are starting to look sad. Any other suggestions ?

Attachments

• tank 036.jpg
    tank 036.jpg
    255.7 KB · Views: 153
other than a very stringent daily session of physical removal, the only other thing you can do is starve out the algae. id focus your efforts towards cutting the trate and phosphate levels down as low as possible. remember that frequent water changes arent always the solution to hair algae. also if its really running wild, try using macroalgae (caulerpa) to outcompete the hair algae.

You can easily make a refugium out of a hob filter. If you have that much algae you have nutrient issues to resolve. This can be done with water changes but is only a bandaid. Reduce the amount your feeding, cut down light times (8 hours is typical) you can go full blackout provided you don't have any coral. The biggest issue is likely overfeeding, cut that down and it should help. Adding clean water only does good till you add extra food again.

you can do 2 big 50% water changes back to back to cut back most of the nitrates and phosphates
lighten up on feedings and cut back lighting
than go back on your normal scheduled water changes