Made a tank mistake.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

molly2015

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm pretty new to having and caring for fish. I have 1 black moor goldfish and I noticed that her tank filters had worms in them. At least I thought they were worms but now I'm thinking it was just debris.

I freaked out and removed her from the tank and put her into a separate bowl while I disposed of all of her gravel and tank filters. Today I went to the store and bought new gravel and tank filter and filled up the water and put her bubble rock in. I know goldfish bowls are bad for goldfish longterm so I put her back into the tank.

Now she is sitting on the bottom of the tank hardly moving and not eating. I did research and found out about the cycling of the tank.

Did I just start a new cycling process? Will she live? What can I do to get her health back?

Yes you did, put the old filters back on the tank and let them run with the new ones, also if your gravel is still wet get nylons and cut the legs off, put 1/4-1/2 the gravel into them tire in a knot and stick it in the corner, do a 30 % water change immediately only water treat it with prime, if you have live bacteria add some, turn the lights off she could just be stressed, do a water test to see if you have ammonia/nitrite.

Don't dig the gravel out of the garbage if you threw it away, just put the old filters or even the media from the old filters into the new filters if they had media rocks in them , double dose the tank with live bacteria like api stress zyme + it has to say +, you can do a 100% gravel change but only if you have good filters with a lot of good bacteria growing in them.