moving to cichlids

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

steeledarren

Aquarium Advice Activist
hi i am totally new to cichlids and was wondering ehere i could go, i have a 55 gal cube tank. was hoping to go malawi if thats the correct spelling. any ideas on how i could start. my lfs only only order and do not stock them, but they are a trusted shop which i have dealt with for years. which means i have not seen many different types, so for a beginner i was wondering where i could start, any help will be appreciated thanks

I'm also going with malawi once I sell of some firemouth fry that are growing out in the tank set up for them.

mfdrookie and Aquarium1 have been very helpful with my question regarding stocking and compatibility.

I know, like all cichlids they like to dig and need hidey places to set up their own territories. I went with pool filter sand and am slowly building up rock for a cichlid condo. :)

A few things, make sure you have plenty of filtration, more than needed really. I already have SA cichlids and know you can't over filter.

Malawi's are prone to bloating if they eat high protein foods. They are herbivorous (some species anyways) I plan to make my own food for them that has a higher vegetable content. Some here suggest New Life Spectrum cichlid food. I read the protein levels of a container of that and decided against it as a main food. As a once or twice a week treat, yep.

Some will leave plants alone, some will eat the plants, some will eat only certain types of plants. I have a friend who has malawis' with java ferns and anubias with no munching and I've heard others say their cichlids mowed through the same plants like a salad bar.

What are the dimensions of this cube? If its not a 4' tank, I would not put africans in it.