My Newb Tank, Help wanted!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

terathan33

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, First off Id like to thank everyone here for all the useful info I have found on this site. I have been reading these forums for sometime but this is my first post. I am a complete newb to aquariums.

I recently purchased a tank off ebay. It is shaped like half an octagon, and holds about 36 gallons of water.
Onto my questions. I started to fishless cycle the tank today, the only ammonia I could find was PathMark brand clear ammonia. I googled a bit and found that people have had success with this brand. The only thing that makes me uneasy is thats it's ingingredient label includes(amoammoniumdroxide solution, clarifying agen, softwater). I have read on some sites that when water gets murky, or foggy people have used clarifying agent. The first question I have, do you think it is safe to use ammonia with clarifying agent?. I don't want to use too much of this ammonia so so I put in about 2 cap fulls into my filled tank, and added a few bits of chopped up shrimp from the local store. Second question I have is, does the fact that my tank was previously used help with the cycling process? It's been out of use i suspect a few months.

Umm now onto my water test results using red sea fresh lab testing equipment.
• Chlorine concentration: 5 ppm, currently being lowered using jungle start right.
• GH– General Hardness. It just said my water is soft, no numeric mmeasurements
• KH – Carbohydrate Hardness – It said my water is soft, no numeric mmeasurements
• PH – 7.4
• Iron – 0 ppm
• Will do the nitrite/ammonia testing in a day or so.

What type of fish/plants would be good for my water?

Anyway heres my tank. Measurements are 36'W, 12'L, 21'H
11r6is8.jpg