Need advice restarting...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chana

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I am very new at this and could use some real step by step advice for anyone out there who has the patience to help me...
I have a 20 gallon long tank that has been home to a single goldfish for a few months. After finding him a new home, I want to start over with some guppies, tetras, easy beautiful fish for beginners. I know goldfish produce a lot of waste. So, once I rehome him, what is the proper procedure to prepare the tank for its new inhabitants? Thanks a bunch!

Hi and welcome! First, you'll have to figure out if the tank is cycled or not. If you've had a goldie in the tank for a few months it should be cycled by now but a proper liquid test kit will determine that for sure. Since you want tropicals, you'll need a heater if you don't already have one. Here's a guide that may help with some general questions, but post specific questions if you have them: Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium - Aquarium Advice

Thanks for the article. When I do water changes, I still see a lot of debris/waste floating around after I've poured in fresh water. So, I feel like the tank is dirty which would make me think to drain the whole thing and scrub out. However, I don't want to lose the benefit of having it cycled from having the goldfish in there. Any thoughts? Thanks.

Get a Python or similar vacuum system, as that lets you be more specific in where you vacuum up crap from.

You can use a wet-dry vac to just skim the surface of the tank (you put the nozzle just above the surface where there is floating debris you want to remove, so it barely sucks any water at all... just enough to pull out the crud).