New 20 Gallon Long and Stocking Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RunSMK

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all. I have recently purchased a 20 gallon long tank and I am in the process of running a fish less cycle. While that is running I have been looking at what to stock the tank with when it is ready. Since I am totally new to this, I need some advice. When I run this "plan" through AqAdvisor, the numbers work, but I know that is not always reality. I am thinking of stocking with the following:

8X Neon Tetras
6X Zebra Danios
2X Dwarf Gourami
3X Cory Catfish
2X Amano Shrimp

AqAdvisor says that gives me an 85% stock level, which i believe is ok. Please tell me if not.

Also, I would introduce the fish slowly to the tank, but does that mean that I add 2 neons at a time and then 2 danios at a time etc.?

Do I need to wait to add the "cleanup crew" until there is something to clean up?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Ok, so what I've heard with fishless cycling is that you should be able to add a decent amount of stock at once depending on the amount of ammonia you've been dosing. That being said, I usually always start with whatever is the least sensitive to new tanks, so I'd go

Danios
Cories
Gourami
Neons
Shrimp

Gouramis in general aren't thrilled to be with other gouramis so I'd say go down to one and up your cories by at least 2. What kind of cories are you looking at? And please remember cories need to be fed, not just relying on picking up scraps.

Also, danios can be very very active so not sure if that would disturb the gourami or not (never really kept gouramis) so someone else would have answer that on.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Agreed with the above.

here's some ideas.

1)1Bolivian ram (dwarf gourami)
8 neon tetras
6 corydoras sterbai
8 cherry shrimp

2)1 German blue ram