New 36 Gallon SeaClear System II, New Forum Member!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wyoredman

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Well, Let's try this again. I posted a few days ago, but the spam hunters ditched me for adding a photo link! HaHa!

First I will introduce myself, as I am a new thread poster on Aquarium Advice! I am a fisheries biologist by education and a water treatment operator by trade. I have always had small, <10 gallons, tanks stocked with everything from local minnows to sunfish to goldfish. I have never really been serious about keeping a true tropical aquarium until recently.

Last year, my wife and I built our new home, and one of the things that I have always dreamed of was a built in the wall tropical freshwater aquarium, framed to look like a picture!

So, after convincing the carpenter what was needed, the house was finished and a large 3' hole dominated the living room wall. I needed a tank!

Through research on the internet and local pet stores, I decided on the 36 gallon SeaClear System II acrylic and purchased one online.

For those of you that are not familiar with the SeaClear System II, it has a built in filter with drip tray and bio-balls, a pre-filter sock, a powerhead that pumps water to a "L" shaped header in the tank. All the equipment is housed in the back portion of the tank, so actual "swim space" for the fish is only around 29 gallons.

Anyhow, I joined Aquarium Advice in March with the intentions of learning how set up my tank and do a fishless cycle. This place is cool!

I wanted a planted tank, medium light plants and 10 - 15 fish. I began by placing 2 1/2" of fine gravel (~20lbs) then another 1" of course gravel on top for a total substrate of 3 1/2".