New and confused, HELP PLEASE!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nikki773

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Not even sure where to begin. So I'm very new to this, this started by my daughter winning some goldfish at a carnival and has turned into me getting very interested, very fast. Goldfish are gone, onto new fish. I have a 10 galloon tank with a Tetra 2-10i filter, and a round air stone. No heater right now, don't think it's needed yet. I have a male balloon belly Molly, and 2 red gold tuxedo guppies, all juveniles. I started the tank May 29th and got the fish the same day. I now understand that wasn't the way to go, I've don't a lot of research and have learned allot since. I'm using test strips right now, waiting for the good test kit to arrive. Yesterday my ammonia level was at stressful according to the bottle, so I did a 25% water change with vacuum. I used Tetra aqua safe with the water change. I took a sample today to petsmart to have them test and readings were Ammonia .25, Nitrate 0, Nitrite 0, Total Hardness 75, Total Alkalinity 120, pH 7.2. All my readings lately have been the same except Alkalinity was 40, not sure why theirs said 120. Ammonia was reading 0 before. When i was at petsmart the lady told me to use api quick start to help with the ammonia. As soon as i got home i put it in. Six hours later tested ammonia and it's reading safe level. When I got the fish the Molly became sick with ICH, he was treated and is better. So my question and problem is... My Molly has been gulping air from the surface for days, noticed it after he got better, and now tonight I noticed one of my guppies is losing color. I don't no what to do, is it the ammonia even though I've been doing water changes, of it bcuz I used aqua safe yesterday and used quick start today? I hope I've given enough info. Please help me before I lose any. I was so upset